Trail Workdays & Crew Leaders

If you’d like to help build and maintain trail, we have a workday going on somewhere in the state almost every weekend of the year and on some weekdays too. Below is a list of volunteer trail crew leaders in different areas. Please contact them for more information about upcoming workdays and how you can get involved. To find a date that works for you, search the calendar or find a location near you.

Asheville area

Les Love – lesrlove55@gmail.com

Pisgah National Forest

Doug Veazey – doug.veazey@gmail.com

Tanawha Trail through Cone Park

Randy Johnson – ranjohns@aol.com

Watauga County

John Lanman – jelanman@charter.net

South Ashe County

Jim Hallsey – jhallsey@skybest.com

North Ashe County

Ed Martin - martinjreh@aol.com

Alleghany County

Steven Joines – sjj1@skybest.com

Stone Mountain to Elkin

Bob Hillyer – bearc98@aol.com

Pilot Mountain and Hanging Rock State Parks

Jay Young – jayyoung@triad.rr.com

Sauratown Trails

Steven Mierisch – mierischs@juno.com

Greensboro

Mike Simpson – mike.simpson@greensboro-nc.gov

Alamance County

Megan Squire – megansquire@gmail.com

Orange County

Jim Suiter – jsuiter@mindspring.com

Shawn Williams – spw6404@gmail.com

Hillsborough

John Willis – jhw445@hotmail.com

Eno River

Fred Dietrich – fred.dietrich@duke.edu

Falls Lake

Jeff Brewer – jdbrewer104@gmail.com

Croatan Task Force

Dave Whitlow – dwhitlow1@ec.rr.com

——————————————————————————–

Workdays are sometimes new trail construction and sometimes maintenance of existing trail. Work may include using a rake and mattock (similar to a pickaxe) to dig new trail and remove small roots, clearing brush, moving logs, and picking up debris.

FMST will supply most of the tools for workdays, but extra loppers and mattox are welcome.

Please wear work clothes and bring a bag lunch, plenty of water, work gloves, hiking boots, and sunscreen. Sorry no dogs allowed at our workdays for safety reasons. If you are under the age of 18, please consult us before attending workdays.

Volunteer worksheet

print friendly page